Skip to content

Grand Central Station and The United Nations

January 30, 2007

Grand Central Station at 42nd Street
(with the Chrysler Building in the background)

Out the front of the UN

Out the front of the UN


Security Council

The Security Council


I can’t remember which room it is, but it’s important


A gift from the United States, a mosaic by Norman Rockwell

Me, in another of the three main meeting rooms at the UN


Make music, not war
A gun that has been turned into a guitar

General Assembly Room, United Nations


Me, in the General Assembly


Inside the Lobby of the UN


The view East across the River from the UN


Another chilled out day for me today. I took my time this morning, had lunch at Veselka’s, then headed off to see Grand Central Station and The United Nations.

Grand Central was very impressive and very lovely. Apparently very busy in rush hour too!

Then the UN. I was really excited about seeing this. I had no idea what to expect, and to what extent we could stickybeak.

The tour was good. We saw the main meeting rooms, each one donated by a different Scandinavian country. The General Assembly was huge.

What was most moving to me, and brought me to tears was the objects from Hiroshima. They had just a few bits and pieces, such as a teapot, and some bowls. But there was also the clothing of a child that had virtually disintegrated. I can’t bear to imagine what happened to that kid.

The buildings as built between 1946 and 1952, so it’s pretty old. A lot older than I expected. And, you can smoke inside, which is obvious the moment you walk in. This is significant as New York has only recently changed to no smoking inside.

On the way home, I bought a new suitcase. I got back here, and managed to fill it with all my purchases. So there’s really not a lot of shopping I can do now!

Home now, going to grab some groceries, and grab some dinner and settle in for a night in front of the telly…

Miss you…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 31, 2007 11:07 am

    I am loving your photos! Keep them coming. You look fabulous and so does NYC. I loved Boston – hope you enjoy that. Love from John x

  2. Reemski permalink
    January 31, 2007 5:21 pm

    Thanks! You’re pretty cute yourself!
    Having a ball. Going to walk over to the meatpacking district today…miss you guys lot’s!

Leave a Reply

