Skip to content

Chinese Food, Hangovers and Uni Students

January 28, 2007

Ugh. Martini’s. But let me start at the beginning.

Some of you may know that I have a random blogger friend, Mitch. I stumbled across Mitch’s blog randomly last year, and we started a correspondence which we’ve enjoyed greatly.

So, we finally met face to face last night. Mitch, his amazing wife, Donna and their beautiful daughter Shayna, met at the China Fun restaurant for dinner, before the girls went to a show on Broadway.

It was great fun, and it was so nice to actually share a meal with someone other than myself after ten days!

We drank, we giggled and we ate. Interesting note. Apparently a lot of Chinese restaurants in New York serve Japanese. Something that would never occur in Australia!

So Mitch and I headed off back to the Lower East Side to a bar where Asena, a girl that is interning at his law firm, moonlights. I think it was called Luv247

Asena is gorgeous. Slovakian. Gorgeous. Anyway, she made me my first Martini. Why has no one told me that Martini’s are practically pure alcohol? That was followed by two large vodka tonic’s and two shots of a mix that Asena created. Vodka, Cassis and fresh lime juice. So, by around 10:30 when Mitch had to head back uptown to pick up his ladies, I was a lot drunker than I thought!

I somehow managed to get home, and pick up a slice of pizza on the way.

Unfortunately for me, over the weekend, a bunch of uni students were staying here at Second Home. On both Friday night and last night, they came back between 2am and 4am, and proceeded to party. It was a nightmare. I’m normally really uptight about this stuff. But I did my best to ignore it. It got a little too much this morning with my bad hangover, when I went to go the toilet and found that it was backed up. Was not impressed. I managed to get myself together enough to go out and get breaky and read the paper.

I’m back, they’re all gone, and I bumped into the owner, Carlos, who told me that he had come down a number of times to ask them to keep the noise down, without success!
Anyway, here are a couple of photos of my teeny, tiny room, the view out the kitchen window (right next to where I’m sitting now) and a couple of shots of the FlatIron Building


3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2007 1:55 am

    Hate to be a kvetch but:

    Shayna is spelled Shayna, not Shana. Just saying. Reem had not asked and so ended up winging it.

    Asena is not a gorgeous Slovakian. She is a gorgeous Slovak. I vaguely recall a law skool professor telling us that words count or have meanings or something.

    And everyone in New York (or in NYC in the next couple of weeks) must go to Luv 24/7 on Friday and Saturday nights, have Asena take care of you, and leave f***ing big tips.

  2. Reemski permalink
    January 30, 2007 4:25 am

    Hi Mitch,

    I stand corrected. But only on Shayna, not on Asena.

  3. February 1, 2007 12:55 pm

    The queen Slovak has enlightened me; “Slovokian” is acceptable. We, including the Slovaks here, just don’t use it.

    I lay prostrate corrected 🙂

Leave a Reply

