Skip to content

A Day of Rest?

January 25, 2007

No photos today!

Today was meant to be a chilled out, relaxed day hanging around my “Nabe” (neighbourhood for those that speak English!)…so I got up, and went to Veselka’s for breakfast. I had fresh waffles with raspberry sauce…they were amazing….so took my time and read the New York Times, and noticed that the Bloomingdales sale was ending this week! The Horror! So I hotfooted my way uptown to this shop everyone had been telling me about.

The first thing to know if you’re ever going to come to New York and want to do some high end shopping, then know that Bloomingdales is it. Like David Jones, but more expensive. First thing, go the international visitors centre and get your discount voucher. It takes 10-15% off everything including sale items. This is why I had been saving it till last, thinking that I’d be able to load up on clothes with an extra special discount.

I must say, I was disappointed. There was nothing that took my fancy (a bit old lady really), and everything was waaayyyy too expensive. Chloe bags were half price. But that still only took them down to US$1500! Lucky for me there was an H & M across the road! And Zara and Express, and Sephora….

Needless to say, I had sore shoulders again from traipsing back downtown with my purchases!

Next stop was food as it was almost 3pm by this stage and I had not eaten a bite, and those that know me well know how cranky I can be when I’m hungry!

So I popped into this place that’s on the next corner from where I’m staying, called Momofuku

The place next to me is the Ssam Bar. I had the “original” with beef instead of pork. This is seriously the best food I’ve had since I’ve been in NY. In terms of freshness, value, taste, the whole shebang, this was the shiznit! So much so, that I got up and told the Manager how good I thought it was. Now, I love my food, and take it pretty seriously, so I’m not joking when I tell you that this was seriously yum, and would go down a treat in Sydney.

So, now kicking back in Dunkin‘ Donuts, where the girl behind the counter now knows that I have a medium Green Tea, no sugar…and watching the world pass by…

Miss you all desperately, and am never going to go away as long again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fuchsie permalink
    January 26, 2007 8:20 am

    Hello Reemie! It’s like you are a NY local now! If you have a chance, you should go see lily allen perfom at Webster Hall on the 10th of Feb- I have just discovered her and reckon you would love her too! http://www.lilyallenmusic.com
    I am going on my own little solo adventure- first to the the flower market and then to bills in Woollarha for breakky. Not quite the Big Apple story, obviously! I will be thinking of you!

  2. Reemski permalink
    January 27, 2007 6:44 pm

    Hiya sunshine! Wow, do I miss you guys! Very pathtic. Love Lily Allen. You must have read my mind. Just bought her cd. Will go see her if I can get tickets…

Leave a Reply

