Skip to content

The Met

January 22, 2007

The front steps of the Met


Me, at the front steps of the Met


A mobile, of all things, that I really liked


Looking South, to Central Park from the Met

Rodin’s “The Thinker”
(It’s actually very small, and very high up the wall!)
[Well, this version, anyway]


A headless, footless, Egyptian


Sarcophagi

Me, in the room with the other Egyptians….


A striking figure

A lion cub carved of quartz…

An adult lion, sans mane


The partial Egyptian Temple, inside the museum


A sphinx in the lobby

I had a reasonably chilled out day today, seeing as it’s Sunday here…

I spent the bulk of the day at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

This place is enormous. It’s probably two or three times the size of the Art Gallery of NSW or the National Gallery in Canberra. This place has a partly built Egyptian Temple in it, and part of a Spanish Villa. And when I say “in it”, I mean inside the building. It was actually very overwhelming, and I felt like I only scratched the surface after about 4 1/2 hours….

The exhibition I was particularly interested in, was about “The Best Dressed Woman in AmericaNan Kempner. This woman was one of the few in the world that wore haute couture, and wore it everyday. The exhibition of her clothes was amazing for it’s breadth, (it ranged from a bikini from the ’60’s [which would not have looked out of place now] to her latest purchases before her death last year). For you ladies, who I know love fashion, you would have loved this show. In the background of each case, there was a sample of her wardrobe, by which I mean hundreds of jumpers, jackets, shoes, jewellery (precious and not), it was just breathtaking.

The other part of the museum I really enjoyed was a photographic exhibition of the opening of Tutankhamun’s tomb

These photos were amazing, and showed each glimpse the way the archaeologists saw it when going in for the first time. I got the book for my mum.

Some of the other sections I caught were Modern art, with some Picasso’s, Jackson Pollock, Georgia O’Keefe, and Andy Warhol. I also saw Monet’s Water lillies, which was much bigger than I expected it to be.

In general, though the building itself is very impressive, I found it far too big to feel like I had adequately covered it. Every time I went into another room, I found a whole new section to see, and in the end it was just too much…I was exhausted by this point, and just needed a good sit down and a hot drink.

Did I mention that it was cold in New York? According to Google, it’s currently minus 2 here, at 9:25pm, and a lovely 26 in Sydney….hmmm….my toes wish they were home…

The other thing that has struck me about New York is the preponderance of Starbucks. They are everywhere. I mean, like McDonald’s on Parramatta Road used to be, Starbucks are on every second corner. And as much as I don’t like to partake in this classic example of cultural homogenisation and the spread of bad coffee, it does provide an always welcome respite from the unrelenting cold. But really, they don’t make good coffee.

So anyway, I headed back downtown to my local stomping ground in the East Village. I really do love it around here, and it’s such a good fit. It’s full of uni students (all you boys would freak at the girls here, they are mostly gorgeous), and arty types, and various assorted alterna-freaks. It’s great. So on the way I headed to Khiel’s, this great place that’s been open for over 100 years that makes lotions and potions for the body, hair and face. It’s available at home at Mecca Cosmetica. I mention this simply because the weather, and the dryness has wreaked havoc with my skin, and it’s in serious need of some TLC. So, I spent large amount on a tiny tub of cream, which I’ll try tomorrow and see if it makes a difference. It’s not all bad though, as they give great samples, and the chick loaded me up with cleansers and masques!

So, headed to Starbucks, grabbed the enormous New York Times, Sunday edition, and settled in for a couple of hours, to read and people watch. Because where I’m staying doesn’t have a common area, there’s nowhere to hang out except in my room, or the kitchen, so it’s obviously more fun to hang out somewhere “out”. Particularly in the “in between” hours of around 5pm and dinnertime. The paper was great, with an amazing style section.
What I noticed most though, was the complete lack of any decent international news, unless it was directly related to the US. Very poor. You really can’t appreciate how good we’ve got it at home, until you come somewhere like this….


This is Veselka’s
(Where I had dinner tonight, and apparently the former hang out of one of the Ramone’s)

So, after a suitable amount of time people watching and paper reading, I headed to Veselka’s to try pierogi, and other assorted Ukrainian specialties…like stuffed cabbage…and this lovely dessert of honey, nuts, sultana’s and poppy seeds all mixed together. Yum!

So pierogi are just little dumplings, fried or boiled. I got a combination meat plate, which consisted of four pierogi, one stuffed cabbage, a choice of soup and a side salad. The soup was perfect. Good old chicken noodle, salad great. The pierogi? Hmm ok. The potato ones were yummy and very moreish. The other ones on my plate were tuna. Unexpected and a bit weird I thought. The stuffed cabbage, wasn’t that great. It was smothered in a yucky sauce which I attempted to scrape off. I managed to it the stuffing, which was ok.

So safely home, (this is me looking tired), and feeling good about my fourth day in the big bad city!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 22, 2007 8:26 am

    Glad to see you are finally there. I love NYC! Your photos are wonderful.

    Love

    John@Ankali

  2. Reemski permalink
    January 22, 2007 3:45 pm

    Thanks John! I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

