Skip to content

DAY 2, AND WE’RE SHOPPING!

January 18, 2007

What a difference a day makes!

After a night where I slept for just a few hours, woke up, watched bad tv, and then slept some more, I woke up feeling ok.

I meet my Big Apple Greeter, Christina, and we jumped on the subway and headed to the Financial District. We went to the recently discovered African Burial Ground, walked down Wall Street to Battery Park, where I met the most amazing squirrels! This guy has been feeding them for years, and all the little critters know him. Incredible. We then headed through Battery Park City, a residential area characterised by family buildings and lot’s of dogs….in fact, Christina showed me a doggy playground, not 15 metres from a kids playground. Very weird.

We then headed to this financial building. Can’t remember what it’s called, but it’s opposite Ground Zero.

I have to say, Ground Zero is pretty unavoidable, and has obviously affected New Yorkers profoundly. It looks like a big hole in the ground, and it is. What’s interesting is how perfect it seems. It looks like someone deliberately demolished the buildings, as everything around seems untouched.

We then walked through Tribeca through to Soho, where Christina left me. It’s here that I started going in to shops. Very dangerous!

I pretty much have walked up Broadway back to the East Village. Shops I hit? H & M, French Connection, a place where I got three pairs of jeans for $100, a place where I got a pair of pink pumas for $30….Ladies, I also hit Sephora, so let me know if you want anything!

So I’ve headed back to my joint, as it’s around 6pm here, and I’m in the bar next door to where I’m staying, kicking back with a very expensive beer (Stella $6) and enjoying their free wireless!

Will post the photos of the squirrels a little later, when I remember….

What’s next? Grabbing some groceries….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 18, 2007 11:26 pm

    Hey Reem was there a crazy tall man playing Yankee Doodle on a tin whistle at Ground Zero? (He may have moved on in 3 years of course!) Very odd feeling when you are there…
    Dont forget to go to Magnolia bakery for cupcakes

  2. Reemski permalink
    January 19, 2007 10:25 pm

    Hi Kate! No didn’t get close enough to Ground Zero to see…

    Oh yeah, forgot about Magnolia. Thanks for the reminder…

Leave a Reply

